Yehliu Geopark

Yehliu Geopark is a popular day trip from Taipei and it’s easy to see why. The park contains many unique geologic formations on the north coast of the island. It’s simple to get the bus there and back and takes only one hour.

The bus ticket can be bought from Taipei West Bus Station Terminal A. Kuo-Kuang bus number 1815 goes to Yehliu for NT96. I came back to Taipei from Hualien and arrived around 10 am to Taipei Main Station. From there I stored my luggage in a locker and walked to the West Bus Terminal and bought the ticket.

yehliu2

When I got on the bus driver ripped the corner of the ticket and once the bus arrived at Yehliu the ticket had to be given back to the driver. The bus drops off about a 15 minute walk from Yehliu Geopark, but there is a walking path that one can follow to the park easily.

yehliu

Once at the park, there is a visitor center with English maps of the park. Entrance fee is NT80 for adults. The park is pretty big and requires some walking, but the weather was quite rainy and windy when I was there, so I basically only scratched the surface of the park. I was still glad to have seen it though.

20151002_154628
The famous queen’s head rock in the middle. There was a line to take the picture from up close, so I decided to take a photo from afar.

20151002_153528 20151002_153542 20151002_153628 20151002_154223 20151002_154608 20151002_154837 20151002_155345

Yehliu is pretty close to Keelung city, which is famous for it’s night market. I headed back to Taipei however, on the same Kuo Kuang bus at the bus stop on the other side of the road from where I was dropped off. The wait wasn’t long and the bus dropped me off back at Taipei West Bus Station. The next day was my flight out.

My last night in Taiwan was actually spent in the Tamsui district, which is a bit out of Taipei, but I didn’t realize that at the time I booked the hotel (I should have read the hotel details better) but it is on the Taipei metro line, about half and hour from Taipei Main Station. The Tamsui Old Street area had a fun vibe at night with a lot of different street food and restaurants try. The area also has plenty of historic buildings, but I didn’t have time to check those out unfortunately. But my hotel had a nice river view.

tamshui

The hotel was called Openroom Inn, it’s a bit hard to find as it’s only one floor (the 9th floor of a building) but the room was quite nice.

Leave a Reply

